Saudi announces new tourist visa for 8 countries

The application can be filled out anywhere from 90 to 2 days before your travels and should be processed within 24 hours
Saudi announces new tourist visa for 8 countries
Elephant Rock, Al Ula, Saudi Arabia

In recent tourism news, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia is introducing visit visas for tourists from eight new countries. Citizens from these eight countries can apply for a visa electronically or upon arrival at any one of the country’s ports. 

The new visa

A visit visa allows visitors to perform Umrah, visit family and friends, conduct business, and tour the country’s heritage sites. The countries include: Albania, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, South Africa, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. 

However, there are some rules that travelers should keep in mind! First off, visitors to Saudi must ensure that they are not surpassing the duration of their visa. Visitors should leave the country before their visa ends to avoid penalties. Secondly, holders of a visitor visa cannot perform Umrah during Hajj. They are also not permitted to earn a wage in the country. Lastly, visas can only be renewed after they have expired.

Read more: Prioritizing heritage through luxury tourism

Touring Saudi Arabia

This summer, the Saudi Ministry of Foreign Affairs launched an electronic visa waiver for visitors from the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland. A single entry e-visa offers visitors a six month stay. This extends across business, tourism, study, and medical. 

Visitors planning their trip can head to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website and fill out the Unified National Visa Platform. The application, which can be filled out anywhere from 90 to 2 days before your travels, should be processed within 24 hours. 

The changing regulations are in line with Saudi Arabia’s Vision 2030, which hopes to strengthen the country’s tourism sector.

For more news on tourism, click here.